ArtSci faculty awards presented

The ArtSci Council’s 2003-04 Faculty Awards Recognition Ceremony was held April 13 in the Women’s Building Formal Lounge.

Each year, all Arts & Sciences undergraduates are asked to nominate a professor, dean or teaching assistant who has “gone above and beyond what is expected to make (their) experience at Washington University meaningful.”

A committee of six ArtSci Council students chooses 10 awardees.

This year’s winners, all from Arts & Sciences, are: Lisa Campbell-Albert, part-time faculty member in the Department of Music; Elizabeth Childs, Ph.D., associate professor of art history; Darla Dale, Ph.D., assistant dean and lecturer in archaeology;

Peter Kastor, Ph.D., assistant professor of history and assistant director of American Culture Studies; Richard A. Loomis, Ph.D., assistant professor of chemistry; Virginia S. Marcus, senior lecturer of Japanese language; Elizabeth Oyler, Ph.D., assistant professor of Japanese language;

Dolores Pesce, Ph.D., professor of music; Satadru Sen, Ph.D., assistant professor of history; and Edward L. Spitznagel, Ph.D., professor of mathematics.

Leave a Comment

Comments and respectful dialogue are encouraged, but content will be moderated. Please, no personal attacks, obscenity or profanity, selling of commercial products, or endorsements of political candidates or positions. We reserve the right to remove any inappropriate comments. We also cannot address individual medical concerns or provide medical advice in this forum.