Excellence in mentoring

The Graduate Student Senate honored five faculty members with Outstanding Faculty Mentor Awards and another 31 faculty members with special recognition for excellence in mentoring during its fifth annual awards ceremony April 8 in the Women’s Building Formal Lounge. The Outstanding Faculty Mentor award recipients for 2003-04 are (from left) Barbara A. Schaal, Ph.D., the Spencer T. Olin Professor of Biology in Arts & Sciences; Gary J. Miller, Ph.D., professor of political science in Arts & Sciences; Robert F. Dymek, Ph.D., professor of geology in the Department of Earth & Planetary Sciences in Arts & Sciences; Arlene R. Stiffman, Ph.D., the Barbara A. Bailey Professor in the George Warren Brown School of Social Work; and (not pictured) Larry May, Ph.D., professor of philosophy in Arts & Sciences. The awards are designed to recognize faculty members whose dedication to graduate students and commitment to excellence in graduate training have made a significant contribution to the quality of life and professional development of graduate students in Arts & Sciences.

Leave a Comment

Comments and respectful dialogue are encouraged, but content will be moderated. Please, no personal attacks, obscenity or profanity, selling of commercial products, or endorsements of political candidates or positions. We reserve the right to remove any inappropriate comments. We also cannot address individual medical concerns or provide medical advice in this forum.