Loebs establish professorship

Jerome T. and Carol B. Loeb have established an endowed professorship and a teaching fellows program at the School of Medicine with a $2.5 million gift.

Carol B. and Jerome T. Loeb
Carol B. and Jerome T. Loeb

The Loebs made this commitment to honor and thank local physicians with clinical excellence and to encourage teaching that excellence to residents and students.

The Carol B. and Jerome T. Loeb Professorship will recognize a professor with extraordinary clinical and medical skills.

The gift will also establish the Carol B. and Jerome T. Loeb Teaching Fellows Program, which will enable two St. Louis physicians to dedicate a significant amount of their time to teaching clinical medicine to students and residents.

Chancellor Mark S. Wrighton and Larry J. Shapiro, M.D., executive vice chancellor for medical affairs and dean of the School of Medicine, announced the Loebs’ gift.

Donors thank clinicians, support staff

In making this gift and establishing this program, the Loebs wish to give special thanks to the many wonderful clinicians from whose care and caring they have benefited:

Elliot E. Abbey, M.D., clinical professor of medicine

Fred J. Balis, M.D., assistant clinical professor of medicine

Ray E. Clouse, M.D., professor of medicine

Ralph G. Dacey Jr., M.D., the Edith R. and Henry G. Schwartz Professor and chairman of the Department of Neurological Surgery

Colin P. Derdeyn, M.D. associate professor of radiology

The late Max Deutch, M.D., emeritus associate clinical professor of pediatrics

Kathryn M. Diemer, M.D., assistant professor of medicine

John F. DiPersio, M.D., Ph.D., the Lewis T. and Rosalind B. Apple Professor of Medicine

Robert M. Feibel., M.D., clinical professor of ophthalmology

Ralph D. Feigin, M.D., former professor of pediatrics

Thomas B. Ferguson Sr., M.D., emeritus professor of surgery

I. Jerome Flance, M.D., emeritus clinical professor of medicine and special associate for community development

Victoria J.Fraser, M.D., professor of medicine

Ruth S. Freedman, M.D., emeritus instructor in clinical ophthalmology and visual sciences

Richard H. Gelberman, M.D., the Fred C. Reynolds Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and head of the department

Jerome J. Gilden, M.D., emeritus professor of orthopaedic surgery

Barry S. Goldenberg, D.M.D., clinical instructor of otolaryngology

M. Gilbert Grand, M.D., clinical professor of ophthalmology and visual sciences

Marshall B. Greenman, M.D., associate clinical professor of pediatricsByron B. Gross, D.D.S.

Keith A. Hruska, M.D., the Ira M. Lang Professor of Nephrology

Michael J. Isserman, M.D., assistant clinical professor of ophthalmology and visual sciences

Michael M. Karl, M.D., clinical professor of medicine

Bruce A. Kraemer, M.D., associate professor of surgery

Carl Lauryssen, M.B., Ch.B., former associate professor of neurological surgery

Daniel S. McDonald, M.D., clinical instructor of obstetrics and gynecology

Susan E. MacKinnon, M.D., the Sydney M. Shoenberg Jr. and Robert H. Shoenberg Professor of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery and head of the division

Steven B. Miller, M.D., associate professor of medicine

David M. Sheinbein, M.D., assistant professor of medicine

Bernard L. Shore, M.D., clinical professor of medicine

The late Samuel D. Soule, M.D., emeritus clinical professor of obstetrics and gynecology

Steven M. Strasberg, M.D., the Pruett Professor of Surgery

Samuel A. Wells Jr., M.D., former Bixby Professor and head of Department of Surgery

Franz J. Wippold II, M.D., associate professor of radiology

Neill M. Wright, M.D., assistant professor of neurological surgery

Rick W. Wright, M.D., assistant professor of orthopaedic surgery

The Loebs also want to acknowledge and thank the nurses, technical, support and administrative medical personnel and the hospitals for their care and caring and importance.

“Jerry has been one of the area’s most outstanding corporate leaders,” Wrighton said. “He and Carol have devoted countless hours to improving our city’s health and well-being, and their commitment to worthy causes is recognized by all who know them.

“An endowed professorship is the highest honor a university can bestow upon a member of the faculty, and this is the first to specifically recognize and support a physician for being an outstanding teacher of future physicians. The Loebs have given us an unprecedented and much appreciated opportunity to recognize and foster clinical excellence.”

BJC HealthCare is recognizing the Loebs’ generosity and enhancing the program by committing $2 million for four additional teaching fellowships, bringing the initial number of fellowships to six.

The physicians in the teaching fellows program will be appointed for a three-year term and will receive compensation to enable them to focus significant additional time on teaching medical students and residents.

Physicians in any area of practice on the School of Medicine faculty will be eligible to be fellows.

“BJC HealthCare and Barnes-Jewish Hospital are pleased to add to this program which Carol and Jerry Loeb have established,” said Ronald G. Evens, M.D., president of Barnes-Jewish Hospital. “As an organization, we are committed to excellence in healthcare and believe these fellowships will be an important part of physician training.”

Wrighton has committed $300,000 in matching funds for the next two fellowships established by other donors. This will allow the next two $500,000 fellowships to be established for $350,000.

“The Carol B. and Jerome T. Loeb Teaching Fellows Program will contribute to the educational experiences of the nation’s very best medical students and residents and is an important contribution to advancing our education and patient care goals at the School of Medicine,” Shapiro said. “The University and the Loebs hope that others will endow fellowships to expand the breadth of this program.”

Jerome Loeb retired as chairman of the May Department Stores Co. in 2001. He joined the company’s Famous-Barr division in 1964 and held several positions at the corporate office and at Hecht’s, the department store division based in Washington, D.C.

In 1981, he was named executive vice president and chief financial officer for the company, elected to the board of directors in 1984, promoted to president in 1993 and named chairman in 1998.

Loeb, who is co-author of Why Can’t We Get Anything Done Around Here? is adjunct professor of marketing at the University’s John M. Olin School of Business.

Loeb is past chairman of the board of directors and a current director of both National Junior Achievement and the local Junior Achievement program.

He serves on the boards of BJC Health System, Barnes-Jewish Hospital and the OASIS Institute. He is a trustee of the St. Louis Science Center and previously served as chairman of its board of commissioners. Loeb also is a member of the President’s Council of the American Jewish Committee.

He earned a bachelor’s degree in mathematics and physics from Tufts University in 1962 and a master’s degree in mathematics from Washington University in 1964.

Carol Loeb earned a bachelor’s degree in mathematics and French from Mount Holyoke College in 1963. She is a mathematics teacher and tutor.

She serves on the Member’s Board of the Missouri Botanical Garden. She and Jerome have established the Loeb Prize at the St. Louis Science Center, which annually recognizes the area’s excellent mathematics and science teachers with cash prizes.

The Loebs are St. Louis natives and have two children.

Leave a Comment

Comments and respectful dialogue are encouraged, but content will be moderated. Please, no personal attacks, obscenity or profanity, selling of commercial products, or endorsements of political candidates or positions. We reserve the right to remove any inappropriate comments. We also cannot address individual medical concerns or provide medical advice in this forum.