O’Leary neuroscience prizes announced

The departments of Neurology and Neurological Surgery recently named the winners of the 26th Annual James L. O’Leary Prizes for Outstanding Research in Neuroscience.

Terrance Kummer (from the lab of Josh Sanes, professor of anatomy and neurobiology) won the graduate student category for a presentation titled “Advanced Postsynaptic Differentiation Without Innervation at the Neuromuscular Synapse.”

Belen Hurle, Ph.D., (from the lab of David Ornitz, M.D., Ph.D., professor of molecular biology and pharmacology) won the postdoctoral category for a presentation titled “Non-syndromic Vestibular Disorder with Otoconial Agenesis in Tilted/Mergulhador Mice Caused by Mutations in Otopetrin 1.”

The prizes will be presented at the 48th George H. Bishop Lecture in Experimental Neurology at 4 p.m. May 28 in Erlanger Auditorium in the Bernard Becker Medical Library.

The lecture will be given by William C. Mobley, M.D., Ph.D., professor and chair of the Department of Neurology and Neurological Sciences at Stanford University School of Medicine.

For more information, call 362-9730.