WUSM to hold commencement ceremonies May 20

Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis will hold its commencement address at 3 p.m. May 20 at the America’s Center. Michael E. DeBakey, M.D., chancellor emeritus of Baylor College of Medicine, is the keynote speaker.

DeBakey, a Louisiana native, is internationally recognized as a medical innovator and inventor. He is a respected surgeon, teacher and statesman whose medical career began in 1937 at Tulane University. In 1948, he joined the Baylor College of Medicine, where he served a variety of roles, including president and chancellor.

In addition to being the first to successfully perform a number of innovative cardiac surgeries, Debakey invented the roller pump, which helped pioneer open-heart surgery more than 60 years ago. He also developed Dacron artificial grafts, which are used today in artery replacement surgeries around the world.

The following commencement addresses precede the School of Medicine event on May 20:

  • The Rev. Jerry W. Paul, president and CEO of the Deaconess Foundation, will speak at the Health Administration Program commencement address at noon in the Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel.
  • Susan M. Fitzpatrick, Ph.D., vice president of the James S. McDonnell Foundation, will address the Program in Occupational Therapy during its ceremony at 1 p.m. in Graham Chapel.
  • Children graduating from the Central Institute for the Deaf Oral School will speak during the ceremony for the Program in Audiology and Communication Sciences at 1 p.m. in Cori Auditorium.
  • Connie Hauser, PT, DPT, owner of Kentucky Physical Therapy, will speak at the Program in Physical Therapy graduation ceremony at 2 p.m. in the Sheldon Concert Hall.
  • Victor Davila-Roman, professor of medicine, will address the Genetic Epidemiology Masters of Science Program at 2 p.m. in Erlanger Auditorium.

The Master of Psychiatric Epidemiology Program will hold its certificate ceremony at 11 a.m., June 6, in the Parc Frontenac Building.

The all-university commencement ceremony will be held May 20 at 8:30 a.m. in the Brookings Quadrangle. Richard A. Gephardt, former U.S. House majority and minority leader, is the speaker.