John Landsverk named senior scholar at the School of Social Work

2006 Aaron Rosen Lecturer will serve as senior scientist consultant at the school’s Center for Mental Health Services Research

John Landsverk, Ph.D., has been named senior scholar at the George Warren Brown School of Social Work at Washington University in St. Louis.

Edward F. Lawlor, Ph.D., dean of the School of Social Work and the William E. Gordon Professor, recently announced Landsverk’s appointment, effective Jan. 1.

In addition to his new appointment, Landsverk will transition from Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board for the School of Social Work’s Center for Mental Health Services Research (CMHSR) to senior scientist consultant at the Center.

“We are extremely excited about bringing John Landsverk’s scientific leadership, collaboration, and good counsel to the School of Social Work,” Lawlor said.

“He has already had an enormous positive influence on the trajectory of mental health services research at the school. Now we see even greater opportunities to enhance CMHSR’s work, the development of child welfare training and research, and the application of evidence to practice.”

As a senior scholar, Landsverk will bring additional leadership to the School of Social Work’s nationally recognized program of research in mental health services and child welfare; mentor faculty on proposal development; collaborate with social work investigators on proposals and articles; and work with senior administration on the scientific and institutional development of the school.

Landsverk will continue his role as director of the Child & Adolescent Services Research Center at Children’s Hospital of San Diego.

He has a long history of research and publication on issues concerning children, youth, and families with a specific expertise in the implementation and evaluation of innovative early interventions for families at risk for child abuse and neglect.

Landsverk is a member of the MacArthur Foundation Youth Mental Health Network and a member of the Technical Advisory Committee for the Institute for the Advancement of Social Work Research.