Chancellor Wrighton named Citizen of the Year

Chancellor Mark S. Wrighton has been named Citizen of the Year, an award sponsored by the St. Louis Post-Dispatch.

Wrighton was chosen by a committee of past winners of the award and was profiled in the Jan. 6 issue of the Post-Dispatch.

A ceremony honoring Wrighton will be held in March on campus and will highlight Wrighton’s accomplishments and the University’s contributions to the St. Louis region during Wrighton’s tenure.

A reception in Holmes Lounge will follow.

The 2006 Citizen of the Year award winner was David W. Kemper, chairman, president and CEO of Commerce Bancshares Inc. and chair of WUSTL’s Board of Trustees.

Past winners of the award also include Chancellor Emeritus William H. Danforth; former U.S. Senators Thomas F. Eagleton and John Danforth; and Sam Fox, U.S. ambassador to Belgium, founder and former CEO of Harbour Group and lifetime member of the WUSTL Board of Trustees.