Of note

Naomi Lebowitz, Ph.D., the Hortense and Tobias Lewin Distinguished Professor Emerita in the Humanities, won the 2007 Leif and Inger Sjöberg Award. The award was given as part of the American-Scandinavian Foundation’s 28th annual Translation Prize competition. The award includes the publication of an excerpt from her translation of the novel “Lykke Per” by the 1917 Nobel Prize winner Henrik Pontoppidan. The novel previously had not been translated into English.

Speaking of

Brian Carpenter, Ph.D., associate professor of psychology in Arts & Sciences; Ruth Clark, Ph.D., assistant professor of physical therapy and neurology; Glenn MacDonald, Ph.D., the John M. Olin Distinguished Professor and director of the Center for Research in Economics and Strategy; and Jill Stratton, associate dean of students, delivered a presentation titled “Creating a Dynamic Faculty Associates Program” at the National Living Learning Conference sponsored by the Association of College and University Housing Officers — International held in October in St. Louis. At the conference, Jacob Acton, Park/Mudd Residential College director, facilitated a session titled “Assessing Sophomores: Implications for Campus Sophomore Initiatives.”