Trustees hear Plan for Excellence in Arts & Sciences

At its spring meeting, the Board of Trustees heard a report on the strategic plan proposed by Arts & Sciences presented by trustee Earle H. Harbison Jr., chairman of the Harbison Corporation and retired president of the Monsanto Corporation. The presentation is part of an overall Plan for Excellence, according to Chancellor Mark S. Wrighton.

Joining Harbison with his presentation on Arts & Sciences was Edward S. Macias, Ph.D., executive vice chancellor, dean of Arts & Sciences and the Barbara and David Thomas Distinguished Professor in Arts & Sciences. The presentation focused on the continuing development and strengthening of the University academically.

In his report to the trustees, Chancellor Wrighton said that the University’s decision to sponsor a charter school in cooperation with the KIPP Foundation will be a significant contribution to the St. Louis City schools system and another opportunity for students and faculty to become directly engaged in community service. The KIPP charter schools eventually plan for five tuition free public schools.

Reviewing the status of current construction projects, the chancellor said that the Harry and Susan Seigle Hall for Social Science and Law will be completed by August, as will the William and Elizabeth Gray Danforth University Center. Construction has begun on the BJC Institute of Health at

Washington University School of Medicine for what will be the largest building erected in University history. Completion of the core structure and shell space is expected in December 2009. Wrighton also said that work continues on schedule for the Village East Residence Hall for occupancy in the fall.

Wrighton reviewed the recent awards to the University, including “institution of the year” from the St. Louis Minority Business Council and the Cornerstone Award from the Clayton Chamber of Commerce. Further, the University has been named to the 2007 President’s Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll, a program of the Corporation for National Community Service sponsored by the President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation, the USA Freedom Corps, and the U.S. Departments of Education and Housing & Urban Development.

Wrighton also reviewed the University’s recent decision to eliminate loans for low-income undergraduate student families, and he said that applications for Fall 2008’s freshmen class again have exceeded 22,000 for the third consecutive year. The University is expecting one of the strongest classes in history when students enroll in August.

Wrighton concluded his remarks by noting that both the men’s and women’s basketball teams will again make appearances in national NCAA Division III tournaments and that the women’s swimming and diving team has qualified eight competitors for the NCAA championships.

Prior to the meeting, the trustees heard presentations from leading members of the Medical School faculty including: Wayne M. Yokoyama, M.D., Director of the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP) and the Sam J. Levin and Audrey Loew Levin Professor of Research in Arthritis; David R. Piwnica-Worms, M.D., Ph.D., Professor of Radiology & Developmental Biology and Director of the Molecular Imaging Center; Victoria Fraser, M.D., the J. William Campbell Professor of Medicine and Co-Director for the Infectious Diseases Division; Timothy J. Ley, M.D. the Alan A. and Edith L. Wolff Professor of Medicine, Professor of Genetics and Director of the Stem Cell Biology Section in the Division of Oncology; and John M. Lasala, M.D., Ph.D., Professor of Medicine and Medical Director of the Cardiac Catheter Laboratory & Director of Interventional Cardiology. The presentations dealt with cutting-edge research in both laboratory and clinical medicine.

The trustees received reports from the following standing committees: development, educational policy, university finance, medical finance, audit, honorary degree, and the Alumni Board of Governors.