Olin Business School to present distinguished alumni awards

Annual event includes presentation of the Olin Award

The Olin Business School is honoring three alumni with the Distinguished Alumni Award on Thursday, April 24, 2008, at its annual dinner at the Ritz-Carlton St. Louis in Clayton. Mahendra Gupta, dean of the business school, will also present the Dean’s Medal, an honor given to friends of the school whose dedication and service to Olin have been exceptional.

The presentation of the Olin Award will make its debut at the event. The award was established in the fall of 2007 by Richard Mahoney, Olin executive in residence and former chairman and CEO of Monsanto. The Olin Award recognizes the practical impact of business faculty’s academic research. The winners of the 2008 award are Jackson Nickerson, Ph.D., the Frahm Family Professor of Organization and Strategy, Todd Zenger, Ph.D., the Robert and Barbara Frick Professor of Business Strategy, who will share a $10,000 honorarium for their study of the negative impact of envy in the workplace. Their paper was one of 30 submitted, and was selected as the winner by 10 prominent business executives and educators.

Alumni awards are bestowed annually to recognize those who have achieved distinction in their fields and for embodying the qualities of leadership, integrity and commitment that the Olin Business School seeks to instill in its students.

Stan A. Askren, M.B.A. ’87, is the chairman and CEO of HNI Corporation, the second-largest office furniture manufacturer in the world, and the nation’s leading manufacturer of gas- and wood-burning fireplaces. During Askren’s tenure, HNI has grown from $600 million to more than $2.6 billion in annual sales. Askren sits on the board of the National Association of Manufacturers and the Business and Institutional Furniture Manufacturer’s Association. He is also active in several civic organizations, such as the Iowa Business Council. Askren is also a member of Olin’s National Council.

David L. Campbell, A.B. ’81, M.B.A. ’81, is the president and CEO of the Anschutz Entertainment Group (AEG), Europe, a subsidiary of one of the world’s leading sports and entertainment companies. In his capacity at AEG, Campbell oversaw the £700 million renovation of London’s Millennium Dome, which is now called the O2. Campbell has become a strong advocate for the city of London. He has served on the board of Visit London, and launched a tourism promotion channel called London TV. Campbell was integral in the city’s bid for the 2012 Summer Olympics.

James D. Weddle, M.B.A. ’77, had dedicated his career to Edward Jones starting with a summer internship and continuing to his present position as the fifth managing partner at Edward Jones. Outside of his service to Edward Jones, Weddle has been very active with both the St. Louis and University communities. Weddle has served on numerous non-profit boards in the region and is a member of WUSTL’s National Council. In 2006, Weddle was honored by the University with a Founders Day Award.

The Dean’s Medal is bestowed upon Mr. And Mrs. Melvin G. Bahle, whose involvement with the University and Olin has made them bona-fide members of the WUSTL community. Melvin Bahle served in the Amphibious Corps during World War II where he was based in the South Pacific. After the war, Bahle began a 37-year career at Ralston Purina where he served as assistant to every one of Ralston’s board chairs until his retirement, becoming vice president in 1973. Over the past several decades, the Bahles have supported three Olin Business School deans, helping to build the school’s national and global reputation. They were among the first sponsors of the Scholars in Business program. Their generosity has made them Life Patrons of the William Greenleaf Eliot Society.