Genomic medicine division awards first Ladenson Fellowship

The Division of Laboratory and Genomic Medicine has awarded the first Jack H. Ladenson Fellowship in Experimental Clinical Pathology to Brian T. Edelson, M.D., Ph.D., a postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of Ken Murphy, M.D., Ph.D., professor of pathology.

The fellowship was created to honor the many professional and departmental contributions of Ladenson, Ph.D., who is the Oree M. Carroll and Lillian B. Ladenson Professor of Clinical Chemistry in Pathology and Immunology and former director of the division. It provides financial support to outstanding postdoctoral researchers preparing to establish their own laboratories.

“We’re finding that training can sometimes take longer than the number of years mandated by traditional residency or fellowship programs,” said Barry Sleckman, M.D., Ph.D., director of the division. “The fellowship sets up a new paradigm that helps bridge the end of formal residency or fellowship training and the start of their independent career. We thought this might be particularly important given the challenging funding environment young scientists are thrust into nowadays.”