Paul Allen, PhD, the Robert L. Kroc Professor of Pathology and Immunology, has received a five-year, $1.9 million grant from the National Institutes of Health’s National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases for research titled “Recognition and Signaling in Positive Selection of CD4+ T Cells.”

Yossi Aviv, PhD, was named the Dan Broida Professor of Operations and Manufacturing Management in the Olin Business School.

Ross Brownson, PhD, professor at the School of Medicine and at the Brown School, received a $2.6 million grant from the National Cancer Institute for research titled “Disseminating Evidence-based Interventions to Control Cancer.” He also received a $799,324 grant from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation for a project titled “Understanding and Applying Evidence in Local Public Health.”

Michael Brent, PhD, the Henry Edwin Sever Professor of Engineering, has received a four-year, $1.36 million grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences for research titled “Linking Gene Regulation to Metabolism.”

Marion Crain, JD, the Wiley B. Rutledge Professor of Law, has been named vice provost. Crain will foster cross-disciplinary teaching and research, with a particular focus on advancing university-wide priorities.

Mario Castro, MD, MPH, professor of medicine and pediatrics and the director of the Asthma and Airway Translational Research Unit, was named to the national board of directors for the American Lung Association.

Ralph G. Dacey Jr., MD, the Henry G. and Edith R. Schwartz Professor and head of the Department of Neurosurgery, was named president of the Society of Neurological Surgeons, the oldest neurological society in the world.

Chancellor Emeritus William H. Danforth was among four individuals honored in July 2012 as Pioneers in Education for their commitment and contribution to public education in Missouri.

Kathryn Dean, director of the Graduate School of Architecture & Urban Design and professor of architecture was named the JoAnne Stolaroff Cotsen Professor of Architecture.

Richard Frankel, PhD, was named the Beverly and James Hance Professor of Accounting in the Olin Business School.

Stephanie A. FritzMD, assistant professor of pediatrics, received the 2012 Young Investigator Award from the Pediatric Infectious Diseases Society at the Pediatric Academic Societies’ annual meeting this past spring in Boston.

David Gutmann, MD, PhD, a neurofibromatosis expert at the Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital and Washington University School of Medicine, was awarded the 2012 Friedrich von Recklinghausen Award by the Children’s Tumor Foundation. The award recognizes his pre-eminent role in neurofibromatosis research and clinical care.

David Holtzman, MD, the Andrew B. and Gretchen P. Jones Professor of Neurology, received the 2011 Alzheimer Research Forum Extra Mile Award. He is the only scientist to win the award twice.

Henric Krawczynski, PhD, professor of physics in Arts & Sciences, has received a two-year, $667,461 grant from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration for research titled “Sensitive Hard X-Ray Spectropolarimetric Observations with X-Calibur and InFOCus.”

Peter MacKeith, associate dean and associate professor of architecture in the Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts, has been named honor consul of Finland for his longtime work in promoting cultural and educational relations between Finland and the United States, particularly in the fields of architecture, education and design. In his role as honorary consul for Missouri, he will strengthen relations between research and academic institutions and map out the commercial potential of the region.

Leslie Markle, former director of public art and design for the Arts Council for Long Beach, has been named the inaugural curator for public art at the Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts. The appointment, effective July 16, 2012, was announced by Carmon Colangelo, dean of the Sam Fox School and the E. Desmond Lee Professor for Collaboration in the Arts.

John E. McCarthy, PhD, professor of mathematics, was named the Spencer T. Olin Professor in Arts & Sciences.

John C. Morris, MD, the Harvey A. and Dorismae Hacker Friedman Professor of Neurology, was appointed to the Alliance for Aging Research Science Advisory Board.

Stephen M. Nowlis, PhD, was named the August A. Busch Jr. Distinguished Professor of Marketing.

D.C. Rao, PhD, professor of biostatistics and of biostatistics in genetics and in psychiatry, has received a four-year, $2.9 million grant from the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute for research titled “Rare Variants for Hypertension in Taiwan Chinese.”

Yoram Rudy, PhD, the Fred Saigh Distinguished Professor of Engineering, has received a four-year, $1.52 million grant from the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute for research titled “Inverse and Forward Problems in Electrocardiography.”

Barbara Schaal, PhD, the Mary-Dell Chilton Distinguished Professor in Arts & Sciences, was honored with the Distinguished Scientist Award from the American Institute of Biological Sciences for her pioneering work in the evolutionary genetics of plants.

Mark W. Smith, JD, assistant vice chancellor and director of the Career Center, was appointed to the Midwestern Higher Education Commission by Missouri Gov. Jay Nixon. Members of the regional commission, which serves 12 states, seek to advance higher education by promoting improved student access, affordability and completion; reducing operational costs; analyzing public policy and facilitating information exchange; enhancing cooperation and dialogue; and encouraging quality programs and services.

Robert A. Pollak, PhD, the Hernreich Distinguished Professor of Economics in Arts & Sciences, has received a three-year, $124,999 grant from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation for research titled “Labor Supply of Married Older Workers.”

Glenn Stone, PhD, professor of anthropology and environmental studies, both in Arts & Sciences, has received a 2.5-year, $224,209 grant from the Templeton Foundation for research titled “GM Crops and Indigenous Management.”

Leave a Comment

Comments and respectful dialogue are encouraged, but content will be moderated. Please, no personal attacks, obscenity or profanity, selling of commercial products, or endorsements of political candidates or positions. We reserve the right to remove any inappropriate comments. We also cannot address individual medical concerns or provide medical advice in this forum.