Medical School instructors, staff lauded​​

Washington University medical students recently presented Distinguished Service Teaching Awards to School of Medicine faculty and house staff to show appreciation for exemplary service in medical student education.

The awards were for the 2011-12 academic year.

Initiated by students and implemented with support from the Office of Medical Student Education, the awards honor educators who have made significant contributions to the training of future physicians at Washington University. Each year, students finishing their first, second and third year of studies select the course masters, lecturers, clerkship directors, attendings, and residents who distinguished themselves most in the education of medical students. The awards allow medical students to express their appreciation for their teachers’ efforts, dedication and patience.


Among those honored was Melvin S. Blanchard, MD, associate professor of medicine. He is the School of Medicine’s nominee for the national Humanism in Medicine Award, which is presented annually by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC). The award recognizes medical school faculty physicians who exemplify the qualities of a caring and compassionate mentor in the teaching and advising of medical students.

Here is a list of others honored at the awards ceremony Nov. 19 at the Eric P. Newman Education Center:

Class of 2013 – Clinical Awards

Clinical Lecturer of the Year: Thomas M. De Fer, MD, professor of medicine

Clerkship Director of the Year: Thomas M. De Fer, MD

Clinical Department of the Year: Internal Medicine

Clinical Teachers of the Year:
Melvin S. Blanchard, MD
Martin I. Boyer, MD, the Carol B. and Jerome T. Loeb Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
John P. Kirby, MD, associate professor of surgery
L. Stewart Massad Jr., MD, professor of obstetrics and gynecology
Gary A. Miller, MD, associate professor of orthopaedic surgery
Robert T. Naismith II, MD, assistant professor of neurology
Heidi Prather, DOST, associate professor of orthopaedic surgery and of neurology
Cassandra M. Pruitt, MD, assistant professor of pediatrics
Morton E. Smith, MD, professor emeritus of ophthalmology and visual sciences
Andrea L. Stephens, MD, assistant professor of obstetrics and gynecology

Residents of the Year:
Zachary R. Cohen, MD
Kendra D. Conzen, MD
Michael H. Johnson, MD
Daniel Moon, MD
Clare Moynihan, MD
Andrew Park, MD
Jay S. Patel, MD
David Raymer, MD
Kathryn Squires, MD
Meghan Valentine, MD

Class of 2014 – Second-year awards

Lecturer of the Year: Megan E. Wren, MD, associate professor of medicine
Professor of the Year: Steven C. Cheng, MD, assistant professor of medicine
Course Master of the Year: Erika C. Crouch, MD, PhD, professor of pathology and immunology
Practice of Medicine Preceptor of the Year: Thomas M. De Fer, MD

Distinguished Service Teaching Awards:
Dana R. Abendschein, PhD, associate professor of cell biology and physiology
Richard D. Brasington Jr., MD, professor of medicine
William E. Clutter, MD, associate professor of medicine, associate director of the House Staff Training Program
Alan I. Glass, MD, assistant vice chancellor and director of Student Health Services and assistant professor of clinical psychiatry
Seth Goldberg, MD, assistant professor of medicine
Scot G. Hickman, MD, professor of medicine
Nigar Kirmani, MD, professor of medicine
James S. Lewis Jr., MD, associate professor of otolaryngology and of pathology and immunology
Wayne M. Yokoyama, MD, the Sam and Audrey Loew Levin Professor of Medicine and professor of pathology and immunology
Allyson R. Zazulia, MD, associate professor of neurology and of radiology

Class of 2015 – First-year awards
Stanley Lang Lecturer of the Year: Barry Sleckman, MD, PhD, Conan Professor of Laboratory and Genomic Medicine
Professor of the Year: Jane Phillips-Conroy, PhD, professor of anatomy
Course Master of the Year: Gregory M. Polites, MD, associate professor of
emergency medicine in medicine
Teaching Assistant of the Year: Nicholas P. Semenkovich
Practice of Medicine Small Group Leader of the Year: Rebecca Bavolek, MD, instructor in emergency medicine in medicine
Selective of the Year: Cynthia A. Wichelman, MD, associate professor of emergency medicine in medicine

Distinguished Service Teaching Awards
Dana R. Abendschein, PhD
Marc J. Bernstein, PhD, associate professor of clinical medicine
Paul C. Bridgman, PhD, professor of neurobiology and associate professor of biomedical engineering
Glenn C. Conroy, PhD, professor of anatomy
Krikor T. Dikranian, MD, PhD, associate professor of anatomy and of physical therapy
Jay F. Piccirillo, MD, professor of medicine, of occupational therapy, of otolaryngology and of biostatistics
Linda J. Pike, PhD, professor of biochemistry and molecular biophysics
Joseph L. (Joel) Price, PhD, DPhil, professor of anatomy and neurobiology
Andrey S. Shaw, MD, Emil R. Unanue Professor of Immunobiology in Pathology and Immunology
Jason Dean Weber, PhD, associate professor of cell biology and physiology and associate professor of medicine