Academy of Science of St. Louis honors WUSM researchers

Four researchers at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis are being honored as outstanding scientists by the Academy of Science of St. Louis.

John C. Morris, MD, the Harvey A. and Dorismae Hacker Friedman Professor of Neurology, will receive the Academy of Science’s Peter H. Raven Lifetime Achievement Award; Karen Seibert, PhD, a professor of genetics and of pathology and immunology, will be honored with the Science Leadership Award for an individual; Samuel Klein, MD, the Danforth Professor of Medicine and Nutritional Science, will be recognized with the Fellows Award; and Katherine Henzler-Wildman, PhD, assistant professor of biochemistry and molecular biophysics, will receive the Innovation Award.

The awards, which will be given at a dinner in April, represent recognition by St. Louis’ scientific community, the Academy’s Board of Trustees and members of the Academy of Science of St. Louis.