Graduate students recognize faculty mentors

The Graduate Student Senate at Washington University in St. Louis recognized eight faculty with Outstanding Faculty Mentor Awards during its 14th annual awards ceremony, held April 10 in the Women’s Building Formal Lounge. Five of the 2012-13 recipients are (from left) John M. Doris, PhD, professor of philosophy in Arts & Sciences; David Wang, PhD, associate professor of molecular microbiology and of pathology and immunology at the School of Medicine; David Balota, PhD, professor of psychology in Arts & Sciences; Wendy Auslander, PhD, the Barbara A. Bailey Professor of Social Work at the Brown School; and Lynne Tatlock, PhD, the Hortense and Tobias Lewin Distinguished Professor in the Humanities in Arts & Sciences. Not pictured are Gammon Earhart, PhD, associate professor of physical therapy; Nathan M. Jensen, PhD, associate professor of political science in Arts & Sciences; and Erik Trinkaus, PhD, the Mary Tileston Hemenway Professor in Arts & Sciences. The awards are based on nominations by graduate students and designed to honor faculty members whose dedication to mentoring PhD students and commitment to excellence in graduate training have made a significant contribution to the quality of life and professional development of students in the Graduate School of Arts & Sciences. Special recognition for excellence in mentoring went to six other faculty members at the ceremony. To see the list of faculty award winners, visit here.
(Credit: kevin lowder)