School of Medicine commencement speakers

Washington University commencement exercises for all schools will be at 8:30 a.m. May 17 in the Quadrangle of the Danforth Campus.

Additionally, the School of Medicine’s Recognition Ceremony will be at 3
p.m. in the Ferrara Theater of America’s Center, 701 Convention Plaza. The School of Medicine’s commencement speaker will be Sandeep Jauhar, MD, PhD, cardiologist and director
of the Heart Failure Program at Long Island Jewish Medical Center and
author of “Intern: A Doctor’s Initiation.”

The school’s student speaker will be Ignacio Becerra-Licha, class
president, candidate for a doctor of medicine.

The speaker for the Program in Audiology and Communication Sciences will be Richard A. Chole, MD, PhD, Lindburg Professor and head of the Department of Otolaryngology, at 1 p.m. in the Farrell Learning and Teaching Center, Connor Auditorium.

The speaker for the Program in Physical Therapy will be Edelle Field-Fote, PhD, vice chair and graduate program director for the Department of Physical Therapy, University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, at 1:30 p.m. in the Khorassan Ballroom, The Chase Park Plaza, 212 N. Kingshighway. The event’s faculty speaker will be Shirley Sahrmann, PhD, professor of physical therapy, of cell biology and physiology, and of neurology. The student speaker will be Daniel Braughton, candidate for a doctorate in physical therapy.

The speaker for the Program in Occupational Therapy will be David Newburger of Newburger & Vossmeyer in St. Louis, co-director of the Starkloff Disability Institute and commissioner of the City of St. Louis Office on the Disabled, at 1 p.m. in Graham Chapel. The event’s faculty speaker will be Kerri Morgan, instructor of occupational therapy and neurology. Student speakers will be Elizabeth Williams, candidate for a master’s in occupational therapy, and Erin Sanborn, candidate for a doctorate in occupational therapy.

Speakers for the Program in Clinical Investigation and the Program in Population Health Sciences will be Larry Shapiro, MD, executive vice chancellor for medical affairs and dean of the School of Medicine; Victoria J. Fraser, MD, the Adolphus Busch Professor and head of the Department of Medicine; and Graham Colditz, MD, DrPh, deputy director of the Institute for Public Health, the Niess-Gain Professor of Surgery and professor of medicine. The ceremony will begin at 4 p.m. Thursday, May 16, in the King Center in the Bernard Becker Medical Library.

For more information on School of Medicine commencement activities, follow this link.