Law Dean Syverud named Syracuse University’s next chancellor


Kent D. Syverud, JD, dean of Washington University’s School of Law and the Ethan A.H. Shepley Distinguished University Professor since 2006, has been selected as the 12th chancellor and president of Syracuse University.

He will begin his tenure as chancellor Jan. 13.

In an announcement to the WUSTL community Thursday, Chancellor Mark S. Wrighton said, “Kent already has established himself as one of the most outstanding leaders in higher education, and we have been fortunate to have the benefit of his leadership to strengthen the quality and impact of our School of Law.

“He also has done much to advance the mission of our entire university. Kent has my admiration and appreciation for his outstanding contributions here, and he has my hearty congratulations on his selection to lead Syracuse University.”

Provost Holden Thorp will coordinate a process to identify Syverud’s successor. Information about that process will be announced as soon as possible.