Recognizing Outstanding Faculty Mentors

article image
Fiona Marshall, PhD, professor of archaeology in Arts & Sciences, accepts an Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award from Diana Fridberg, one of Marshall’s graduate students, during the 15th Annual Graduate Student Senate Outstanding Faculty Mentor Awards ceremony and reception. The ceremony was held April 9 in the Women’s Building Formal Lounge. The six other 2013-14 Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award recipients are Arts & Sciences’ Nancy E. Berg, PhD, Rebecca Copeland, PhD, Robert E. Hegel, PhD, Eva-Maria Russo, PhD, and Slava Solomatov, PhD, and the School of Medicine’s Jason Mills, MD, PhD. The awards are based on nominations by graduate students and designed to honor faculty members whose dedication to mentoring PhD students and commitment to excellence in graduate training have made a significant contribution to the quality of life and professional development of students in the Graduate School of Arts & Sciences. Hegel and Marshall are two-time winners of the award, both previously receiving it in 2001. Special recognition for excellence in mentoring went to six other faculty members at the ceremony. To see bios and student comments on the Outstanding Faculty Mentors as well as a list of the special recognition winners, visit here.
(Credit: Sid Hastings/WUSTL Photos)