​Washington University opens computer science course to Harris-Stowe State University students

​Partnership aims to give Harris-Stowe students competitive edge in graduate school programs

Provost Holden Thorp, PhD (left), and Dwyane Smith, PhD, provost and vice president for academic affairs at Harris-Stowe State University, sign an agreement to create a partnership between the two institutions. Looking on are Ralph S. Quatr​ano, PhD, dean of the School of Engineering & Applied Science at Washington University, and Ann Podleski, PhD, professor of mathematics at Harris-Stowe. (Credit: Joe Angeles/WUSTL Photos)


A new agreement between Washington University in St. Louis and Harris-Stowe State University (HSSU) will allow HSSU students to complete computer science course work at Washington University at no cost.

Leaders from the two universities signed a memorandum of understanding at a ceremony held April 20 at HSSU. Washington University Provost Holden Thorp, PhD, and Dwyane Smith, PhD, provost and vice president for academic affairs at HSSU, were joined at the event by a number of HSSU students and faculty representatives from both institutions, including Roch Guerin, PhD, the Harold B. and Adelaide G. Welge Professor of Computer Science at Washington University, who was instrumental in the creation of the partnership.

The agreement will enable HSSU students to take Computer Science 131 through Washington University’s School of Engineering & Applied Science. The course will be available online or in person.

Located in midtown St. Louis, HSSU is a fully accredited, four-year institution that offers 14 degree programs in teacher education, business and arts & sciences.

In 2014, HSSU ranked No. 1 in the state of Missouri and No. 47 in the nation in granting degrees in mathematics and statistics to African-Americans, according to the Missouri Department of Higher Education and the publication Diverse: Issues In Higher Education.

HSSU students interested in learning more about the course should consult with their academic advisers.​