Arts & Sciences faculty recognized for excellence in teaching and service

Barbara A. Schaal, dean of the faculty of Arts & Sciences at Washington University in St. Louis, presented the annual Arts & Sciences faculty awards at a Sept. 12 reception in Ridgley Hall’s Holmes Lounge.

Arts & Sciences faculty award winners
Dean Barbara Schaal (center) speaks with recipients of Arts & Sciences faculty awards (from left) John Shareshian, Lynne Tatlock, Janet Duchek and Megan Daschbach. (Photo: Whitney Curtis/Washington University)

Megan Daschbach, senior lecturer in chemistry and director of the Chemistry Peer-Led Team-Learning Program, and John Shareshian, professor of mathematics and statistics, received the Arts & Sciences Distinguished Teaching Award.

Lynne Tatlock, the Hortense and Tobias Lewin Distinguished Professor in the Humanities and director of comparative literature, received the Arts & Sciences Faculty Leadership Award.

Schaal established both the Distinguished Teaching Award and the Faculty Leadership Award in 2014 as a way to recognize exceptional commitment to Arts & Sciences and its students.

Janet Duchek, associate professor of psychological and brain sciences, received the David Hadas Teaching Award, which recognizes excellence in teaching first-year undergraduates.

To learn more about the winners, visit The Ampersand.

Leave a Comment

Comments and respectful dialogue are encouraged, but content will be moderated. Please, no personal attacks, obscenity or profanity, selling of commercial products, or endorsements of political candidates or positions. We reserve the right to remove any inappropriate comments. We also cannot address individual medical concerns or provide medical advice in this forum.