Dacey receives award from neurosurgeons’ association

The American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS) has presented Ralph G. Dacey Jr., MD, with the 2013 Distinguished Service Award. The award is one of the highest honors bestowed on a member, recognizing exemplary service to the AANS and the neurosurgical specialty.

Dacey becomes president of neurosurgery society

Ralph G. Dacey Jr., MD, the Henry G. and Edith R. Schwartz Professor and head of the Department of Neurosurgery at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, became president of the Society of Neurological Surgeons (SNS) May 22, 2012.

Department of Neurological Surgery celebrates 100 years

The Department of Neurological Surgery at Washington University School of Medicine celebrates its 100th anniversary this month. Over the past century, it has become internationally known for its groundbreaking basic and clinical research, dedication to patient care and outstanding training of residents. The department’s origins can be traced to the 1911 arrival at the School of Medicine of Ernest Sachs, MD, who became the world’s first professor of neurological surgery in 1919.