McLeod Writing Prize winners named

people pose for a photo
(From left) Jennifer Smith, Clara McLeod, Adon Wade-Currie, Emily Wyland, Olivia Crow and Sowande’ Mustakeem pose for a photo. (Courtesy photo)

The winners of the annual Dean James E. McLeod Writing Prize are Adon Wade-Currie and Olivia Crow, who shared first prize, and Emily Wyland, who received an honorable mention, announced Jennifer Smith, dean of the College of Arts & Sciences, on Sept. 13.

Each year, the prize is awarded to first-year students who author original research papers that explore some aspect of race, gender and/or identity. The papers were submitted last academic year; the winners are now sophomores.

Visit the Arts & Sciences website for more information and to read the winning essays.

Leave a Comment

Comments and respectful dialogue are encouraged, but content will be moderated. Please, no personal attacks, obscenity or profanity, selling of commercial products, or endorsements of political candidates or positions. We reserve the right to remove any inappropriate comments. We also cannot address individual medical concerns or provide medical advice in this forum.