Brookings Hall

Sadat, Van Essen to receive 2017 faculty achievement awards

Leila Sadat, an internationally renowned human rights expert, and David C. Van Essen, an authority on brain structure, function and development, will receive the university’s 2017 faculty achievement awards, Chancellor Mark S. Wrighton announced. Eric Leuthardt, MD, will be honored for innovation and entrepreneurship.

Four faculty recognized for their achievements

Four WUSTL faculty members were recognized for their accomplishments during the Faculty Achievement Awards ceremony Dec. 7 in Simon Hall. (From left) David M. Holtzman, MD, and Randall J. Bateman, MD, received the Chancellor’s Award for Innovation and Entrepreneurship Award from Chancellor Mark S. Wrighton. James V. Wertsch, PhD, and Richard H. Gelberman, MD, received the Arthur Holly Compton Faculty Achievement Award and the Carl and Gerty Cori Faculty Achievement Award, respectively.

Gelberman, Wertsch to receive 2013 faculty achievement awards

Richard H. Gelberman, MD, a world-renowned expert in hand and wrist microsurgery, and James V. Wertsch, PhD, founding director of one of the most successful and innovative global scholarship programs in the world, will receive Washington University’s 2013 faculty achievement awards, Chancellor Mark S. Wrighton announced. They will receive their awards and give presentations of their scholarly work during a Dec. 7 program.

Trinkaus, Yokoyama to receive faculty achievement awards

Erik Trinkaus, PhD, considered by many to be the world’s most influential scholar of Neandertal and early modern human biology and evolution, and Wayne M. Yokoyama, MD, an internationally renowned immunologist and arthritis researcher, will receive Washington University’s 2011 faculty achievement awards, Chancellor Mark S. Wrighton announced.