Four faculty recognized for their achievements

article image
James V. Wertsch, PhD (left), vice chancellor for international affairs, director of the McDonnell International Scholars Academy and the Marshall S. Snow Professor in Arts & Sciences at Washington University in St. Louis, and Richard H. Gelberman, MD, the Fred C. Reynolds Professor and head of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, chat after receiving the university’s 2013 Faculty Achievement Awards during a Dec. 7 program in Simon Hall. Wertsch received the Arthur Holly Compton Faculty Achievement Award, and Gelberman received the Carl and Gerty Cori Faculty Achievement Award. Both professors received a plaque and $5,000 honorarium and gave presentations of their scholarly work during the program. Also receiving awards were Randall J. Bateman, MD, the Charles F. and Joanne Knight Distinguished Professor of Neurology, and David M. Holtzman, MD, the Andrew B. and Gretchen P. Jones Professor and head of the Department of Neurology. They were co-recipients of the Chancellor’s Award for Innovation and Entrepreneurship. Bateman and Holtzman each received a framed certificate and an engraved Steinback crystal bowl. The Chancellor’s Gala in the Danforth University Center followed the awards ceremony. For more information on the Faculty Achievement Award winners, visit here. For more on the Chancellor’s Award for Innovation and Entrepreneurship winners, visit here.