Law dean advisory committee named

Chancellor Mark S. Wrighton has appointed an advisory committee to assist him in the search for the next dean of the School of Law.

Joel D. Seligman, J.D., dean of the School of Law and the Ethan A.H. Shepley University Professor, announced recently that he would be leaving Washington University to become president of the University of Rochester. He is scheduled to step down here June 30.

The Advisory Committee on the Appointment of the Dean of the School of Law is charged with identifying 3-5 individuals with the intellectual, administrative, personal and leadership qualities sought for the new dean, said Wrighton, who hopes to complete the appointment process by July 1.

Wrighton has named Daniel L. Keating, J.D., the Tyrell Williams Professor of Law and dean for academic affairs, to chair the committee.

Other committee members are: Jane Harris Aiken, J.D., the William M. Van Cleve Professor of Law; Janet L. Bolin, associate dean of admissions and financial aid in the School of Law; Michael R. Cannon, J.D., executive vice chancellor and general counsel;

Glenn L. Dalton, president of the RKD Group; Rebecca S. Dresser, J.D., the Daniel Noyes Kirby Professor of Law; Jean C. Hamilton, chief judge, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Missouri, and a member of the law school’s national council; Edward F. Lawlor, Ph.D., dean of the George Warren Brown School of Social Work; Stephen H. Legomsky, J.D., D.Phil., the Charles F. Nagel Professor of International and Comparative Law;

Ned O. Lemkemeier, J.D., member of the Board of Trustees, partner with Bryan Cave LLP, and chair of the law school’s national council; Sasha E. Polonsky, student in the School of Law; Nancy C. Staudt, J.D., professor of law; and William H. Webster, member of the Board of Trustees and the law school’s national council and senior partner with Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy LLP.

The University has hired a consultant to assist in the search process; he is Jerry H. Baker of Baker-Parker Inc. in Atlanta.