Shapiro elected chair of academic health centers association

Larry J. Shapiro, MD, executive vice chancellor for medical affairs and dean of Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, has been elected chair of the board of directors of the Association of Academic Health Centers (AAHC).

Shapiro, also the Spencer T. and Ann W. Olin Distinguished Professor and president of the Washington University Medical Center, was elected to the one-year term at the association’s annual meeting in Dallas.


An internationally renowned research geneticist and pediatrician, Shapiro is recognized for his significant research in human genetics, molecular biology and biochemistry.

He is a member of the prestigious National Academy of Sciences’ Institute of Medicine and of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Shapiro earned both undergraduate and medical degrees from Washington University. He distinguished himself academically and is a member of the Phi Beta Kappa and Alpha Omega Alpha national honor societies. In 1996, he received the university’s prestigious Alumni Achievement Award.

“I am both delighted and privileged to have the opportunity to work under the leadership of Dr. Shapiro,” says Steven A. Wartman, president and chief executive of the AAHC. “He is not only an outstanding leader with impressive credentials but is also dedicated to advancing the AAHC’s mission of improving health and well-being through the work of academic health centers in health professions education, research and patient care.”

The Association of Academic Health Centers (AAHC) is a nonprofit organization that seeks to advance the nation’s health and well-being through vigorous leadership of the nation’s academic health centers. Its mission is to improve the nation’s health-care system by mobilizing and enhancing the strengths and resources of the academic health-care enterprise in health professions, education, patient care and research.