Sports update Dec. 5: Men’s basketball shocks Augustana to win Lopata Classic

The men’s basketball team upset No. 1 and previously unbeaten Augustana College, 71-68, to win the 28th Annual Lopata Classic Dec. 3 at the WU Field House.

Senior Dylan Richter earned MVP honors after pouring in a career-high 27 points on 9-of-15 shooting from the field. Richter scored 17 of his game-high 27 points in the second half. Freshman Brayden Teuscher, Augustana’s Brian DeSimone and Bryant Voiles, Whittier’s Willie Mebane and Wisconsin Lutheran’s Alex Merbach also were named to the all-tournament team.

WUSTL picked up its 12th-straight and 21st overall Lopata Classic title, and improved its all-time record to 50-6. The Bears have won 26 straight games in the tournament, and have not lost since the 1998 classic.

Teuscher poured in a career-high 23 points on 7-of-11 shooting to lead the Bears to an 84-72 win over Whittier College Dec. 2. Senior Alex Toth recorded the third double-double of his career with a season-high 15 points and 10 rebounds, while Richter added 14 points and five boards.

WUSTL (5-2) continues its four-game home stand against Webster University on Wednesday, Dec. 7. Tip-off is set for 8 p.m. at WU Field House.

Women’s basketball wins McWilliams Classic

Senior Dani Hoover earned MVP honors after leading the women’s basketball team its fifth straight McWilliams Classic championship.

Hoover tied a tournament record with eight three-pointers in the two wins in the tourney. She scored a career-high 24 points in a 70-47 win over Augustana College Dec. 2, and followed that performance with 17 points in the 70-58 win over Wisconsin Lutheran College in the Dec. 3 championship game.

The Bears had four players score in double figures in the championship. In addition to Hoover’s 17 points, junior Kristin Anda posted a double-double with 17 points and 10 rebounds in the win. Freshmen Melissa Gilkey and Maddy Scheppers added 14 and 11 points, respectively, while also both pulling down eight rebounds.

Hoover, Anda and senior Bethany Morrison were all named to the all-tournament team, along with Wisconsin Lutheran’s Shavon Dillon and Rachel Johnson, Augustana’s Amy Hicks, and Agnes Scott’s Genefine Sapateh.

WUSTL (6-1) travels to Dubuque, Ia., to take on Loras College at 5 p.m. Friday, Dec. 9.

2011 Sports Hall of Fame inductees announced

Washington University, in conjunction the W Club, has announced the 14th induction class for Sports Hall of Fame.

Induction ceremonies will be held during a breakfast at the Knight Center at 8:30 a.m. Feb. 10, 2012. Later that night, the Class of 2011 will be recognized at halftime of the women’s basketball game against Case Western Reserve University.

The Class of 2011 features eight former student-athletes, two head coaches and a distinguished service honoree: Christyn Chambers Abaray (Class of 2001, women’s soccer), Chris Alexander (Class of 2002, men’s basketball), Rich Berens (Class of 1994, men’s tennis), Jeff Doyle (Class of 1994, football, track & Field), David Pearce (Class of 1951, men’s basketball, baseball), Shelley Swan Reed (Class of 1996, volleyball), Liz Swary (Class of 2005, softball) and Sue Tucker (Class of 2001, women’s basketball, softball).

Men’s basketball coach Mark Edwards (Class of 1969, men’s basketball, track & field) and women’s basketball coach Nancy Fahey will also be inducted into the Sports Hall of Fame, along with distinguished service recipient Jim Burmeister (Class of 1961).

With the addition of the 2011 class, the WU Sports Hall of Fame boasts 143 members, including Distinguished Service honorees.

Swimming and diving second at Wheaton Invitational

The men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams both finished second at the Wheaton College Invitational Dec. 2 and 3, in Wheaton, Ill. The women’s team finished first in seven events, second in four and third in six for a strong performance.

Freshman Sara Taege played a role in four of the first place finishes, including two individual victories. Taege finished first in the 500-yard freestyle with a time of 5:06.37. She also won the 400-yard individual medley in 4:33.68, good for an NCAA ‘B’ cut.

The team of sophomore Chi Pham, Taege, sophomore Allison Siegel and freshman Jennifer Tartavull captured the 400-yard freestyle relay in 3:33.29. The other relay win came in the 400-yard medley relay, where the team of Pham, senior Catherine Rafferty-Millett, Murray and Tartavull finished in 3:59.63. Murray earned a ‘B’ cut in the 1650-yard freestyle, finishing in 17:26.23.

Pham also took two victories individually, in the 100-yard backstroke (57.95 for a ‘B’ cut) and the 200-yard individual medley (2:07.84 for a ‘B’ cut).

The men’s team finished first in six events, second in five and third in four. The Bears put together a strong performance in the 200-yard freestyle, as junior Mark Minowitz finished first in 1:42.94. Senior Chris Valach captured the 500-yard freestyle for the Bears in 4:39.84.

The Bears also performed well in the 1650-yard freestyle, as freshman Zane Turpin took first place honors and broke the school record in 15:53.88, a time that would have qualified for the 2011 NCAA meet and good for an NCAA ‘B’ cut. He also managed to break the school record in the 1,000 with a split of 10:34.25.

Turpin and Valach teamed up to take first and second place again in the 200-yard butterfly. Turpin won in 1:54.15, while Valach took second in 1:54.44. Turpin wrapped up an outstanding individual meet with a ‘B’ cut swim in the 400-yard individual medley. He finished 5.5 seconds ahead of second place with a time of 4:06.10.

The final first place for the men’s side came in the 800-yard freestyle. The team of Valach, sophomore Jason Wan, Nutter and Minowitz finished in 6:55.44, winning by almost five seconds.

Track and field opens indoor season

The men’s and women’s track and field teams won 12 events and posted three NCAA Division III provisional qualifying marks to open their indoor seasons Dec. 2 at the Illinois Wesleyan First Chance Meet in Bloomington, Ill.

Sophomore Jasmine Williams led the women with a pair of individual titles, winning both the high jump and long jump. Williams cleared a provisional qualifying height of 1.65 meters to win the high jump, which moved her into a tie for second all-time at Washington U. She also won the long jump with a leap of 5.02m.

Sophomore Anna Etherington also posted a provisional qualifying mark in winning the pole vault with a clearance of 3.35m.

Senior Tyler Jackson recorded the lone provisional qualifying mark for the men’s team, winning the 55-meter hurdles with a time of 7.73 seconds.

Sophomore Shannon Howell and junior Ann Diaz-Arrastia were the other two event-winners for the women. Howell won the 55 hurdles with a time of 8.79, while Diaz-Arrastia recorded a jump of 10.84m to win the triple jump.

The men had six other event winners at the meet, led by sophomore Arthur Townsend, who won the 300 with a time of 36.48, and also added a second-place finish in the 200 in a time of 23.28. Junior Ryan Doll clocked a time of 23.21 to win the 200.

WUSTL also won the 1,600 relay in a time of 3:25.12, along with three field events. Senior Justin Pieper cleared a height of 1.95m to win the high jump and freshman Troy Makous won the pole vault with a clearance of 4.27m. Junior Tom Arnold led a 1-2-3 sweep in the shot put. Arnold won the event with a toss of 12.97m, while freshmen Ian Montague and Zach Lonneman placed second and third with throws of 12.76m and 12.58m, respectively.

Both teams return to action Jan. 14, 2012, at the Illinois Wesleyan Double Dual in Bloomington, Ill.