Nominate exceptional staff member for Gloria White award

Help the university recognize a staff member who goes above and beyond to help students, faculty or others in the WUSTL community by nominating him or her for the Gloria W. White Distinguished Service Award.

The Gloria White award — named for the late Gloria White, who retired in 1997 as vice chancellor for human resources after 30 years with the university — recognizes a staff member for his or her exceptional effort and contributions that result in the betterment of the university.

Nominations must be submitted by Friday, Feb. 24.

Exceptional effort and contribution can be described in many ways. Those making nominations for this award are asked to consider actions that strengthen the university’s ability to promote learning, help create a positive working and learning environment, improve the wider community and enhance the university’s reputation.

Nominees must have at least five years of employment with the university and be a non-academic staff member in good standing.

Nominations should focus on the Danforth, North and West campuses. The School of Medicine established the Dean’s Award to provide similar recognition to medical school employees.

A nomination for the Gloria White award must include the nominee’s name, the specific reasons for the nomination, a brief description of how the university benefits or has benefited from the nominee’s actions, and the signature of the person submitting the nomination.

Past winners include Beverly M. Owens, assistant director for faculty support in the School of Law (2011); Donna Williams, business manager for Engineering Student Services (2010); and Tamara King, JD, director of judicial programs (2009).

A committee will review the nominations and select the winner, who will receive the $1,000 award during the Monday, May 21, Staff Day celebration on the Danforth Campus.

Nomination forms are available on the human resources website, Click on the Gloria White award announcement on the right-hand side of the page.

To obtain a paper copy or for more information, call (314) 935-5990. Paper nominations should be sent via campus mail to “Gloria W. White Distinguished Service Award”; Campus Box 1184.