Distinguished Faculty, Goldstein awards given

Washington University School of Medicine awarded 14 Distinguished Faculty Awards and three Goldstein Leadership Awards Feb. 9 at the Eric P. Newman Education Center.

For the Distinguished Faculty Awards, recipients were chosen from among 42 individuals nominated by their peers to recognize achievements in clinical care, community service, research and teaching.

“These dedicated and talented individuals have made significant and lasting contributions to the School of Medicine’s tradition of excellence in patient care, education, research and community service,” says Larry J. Shapiro, MD, executive vice chancellor for medical affairs and dean of the School of Medicine.

“The efforts of those who are receiving the Distinguished Faculty Awards and the Goldstein Leadership Awards have touched the personal and professional lives of countless patients, families, colleagues, students and trainees. In the process, they have enriched our academic community and beyond in immeasurable ways.”

The recipients of the Distinguished Faculty Awards are as follows:
Distinguished Clinician Award

  • Sanjeev Bhalla, MD, associate professor of radiology
  • Jennifer W. Cole, MD, associate professor of anesthesiology (posthumous)
  • Helen Liapis, MD, professor of pathology and immunology and of medicine
  • Perry L. Schoenecker, MD, professor of orthopedic surgery

Distinguished Investigator Award

  • David L. Brody, MD, PhD, assistant professor of neurology
  • Raphael Kopan, PhD, the Alan A. and Edith L. Wolff Professor of Developmental Biology; professor of medicine
  • Andrey S. Shaw, MD, the Emil R. Unanue Professor of Pathology and Immunology

Daniel P. Schuster Award for Distinguished Work in Clinical and Translational Science

  • M. Alan Permutt, MD, professor of medicine and of cell biology and physiology

Distinguished Community Service Award

  • Mario Castro, MD, professor of medicine and of pediatrics
  • Mark J. Manary, MD, the Helene B. Roberson Professor of Pediatrics

Distinguished Educator Award
Clinical Fellow Mentoring

  • Ken Yamaguchi, MD, the Sam and Marilyn Fox Distinguished Professor of Orthopedic Surgery

Graduate Student Teaching

  • Daniel C. Link, MD, the Alan A. and Edith L. Wolff Distinguished Professor of Medicine, professor of pathology and immunology

House Staff Teaching

  • Christopher R. Carpenter, MD, assistant professor of emergency medicine

Postdoctoral Research Mentoring

  • Laura Jean Bierut, MD, professor of psychiatry

Recipients of the Samuel R. Goldstein Leadership Awards in Medical School Teaching are:

  • Douglas P. Larsen, MD, assistant professor of neurology and of pediatrics
  • D. Michael Nelson, MD, PhD, the Virginia S. Lang Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Deborah C. Rubin, MD, professor of medicine and of developmental biology.

The Goldstein Leadership Awards recognize outstanding teaching and commitment to medical education and are among the highest honors that School of Medicine faculty can achieve. They were established in 2000 in memory of Goldstein, a longtime friend of the medical school.

A selection committee made up of faculty and a student representative from each class reviews all submitted nominations and selects three recipients based on incorporation of innovative approaches to teaching and curriculum development, commitment to enhance educational skills and teaching evaluations. The committee forwards its recommendations to Shapiro for final approval.