WUSTL named Truman Scholar Honor Institution​​​

Washington University Chancellor Mark S. Wrighton (center) accepts the 2012 Truman Foundation Honor Institution Award from Andrew Rich (third from left), executive secretary of the Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation during a luncheon Dec. 3 at the Whittemore House. WUSTL was named an Honor Institution because of its two Truman Scholarship winners this year and its sustained success in helping students win Truman Scholarships to pursue careers in public service. Also attending the luncheon were (from left) alumna Pooja Agarwal (AB ’05, MA ’09, PhD ’11); senior Ethan Lynch; Joy Z. Kiefer, PhD, assistant dean in the College of Arts & Sciences, director of undergraduate research and WUSTL’s Truman scholarship representative; and senior Madeleine Daepp. Agarwal won a Truman Scholarship in 2005 and Lynch and Daepp were the two winners in 2012. There have been seven Truman Scholars at Washington University since 2005. It is a highly competitive federal scholarship awarded to U.S. juniors based on academic performance, leadership and dedication to public service.
(Credit: sid hastings)