School of Law presents alumni awards to six

The School of Law honored six individuals April 11 at its annual Distinguished Law Alumni Awards Dinner at the Starlight Roof at the Chase.

Distinguished Law Alumni Award honorees were John W. Kozyak, Sanford S. Neuman, Joan M. Newman and Maury B. Poscover.

Pamela H. Bucy and R. Mark McCareins received Young Alumni Awards.

Joel Seligman, J.D., dean and the Ethan A.H. Shepley University Professor, presented the awards.

Kozyak (J.D. ’75) was recognized for his long-standing commitment to pro bono work, continuing legal education and promoting diversity.

Kozyak has concentrated on commercial bankruptcy and has been recognized in every edition of Best Lawyers in America since 1978. In 1984, he established a bankruptcy retreat for the Bankruptcy Bar for the Southern District of Florida, which is now recognized as one of the most prestigious continuing legal education programs in the country.

The Florida Commission on the Status of Women and the Florida Bar Association has recognized Kozyak Tropin & Throckmorton for its diverse work force.

Neuman (B.S. ’56 and J.D. ’59) was recognized for his deep commitment to educational and public service organizations in the St. Louis community.

Neuman is a founding member and managing partner of Gallop Johnson & Neuman. The firm was founded in 1976 and is one of the largest in St. Louis.

At the University, he serves on the law school’s national council and has taught taxation courses as an adjunct professor.

Neuman is a vice president and serves on the executive committee and board of the Jewish Federation of St. Louis.

Newman (J.D. ’72 and LL.M. ’73) was recognized for her service and dedication to the St. Louis community and for her accomplishments in the legal profession.

Newman is a partner in the St. Louis firm of Thompson Coburn, where she serves on the management committee and chairs the employee benefits practice area.

She is past president of the law school’s alumni association, a former member of the school’s national council and a former adjunct professor in the graduate tax program.

Poscover (J.D. ’69) was recognized for his service to and achievements in the legal community.

As a partner at Husch & Eppenberger, Poscover is nationally recognized for his expertise in commercial finance, business transactions and law practice management.

In 1999, Poscover was elected to the board of governors of the American Bar Association.

Since 1997, he has served on the law school’s national council and serves on the Law Capital Resources Committee. He chaired the school’s alumni association in 1980-81.

In addition, Poscover and his wife, Lorrie (J.D. ’68), established the Poscover Endowed Scholarship in 2000.

Bucy (J.D. ’78) was recognized for her contributions to legal education.

As the Frank M. Bainbridge Professor of Law at the University of Alabama, Bucy teaches in the areas of white-collar crime, criminal law and criminal procedure.

Four times selected by students for an outstanding teacher award, her students have also honored her with three Thomas Christopher Awards, which are given to faculty who make “a lasting contribution to legal education.”

A prolific author, Bucy is nearing completion of her seventh book on the subject of white-collar crime. Her numerous articles have been published in law reviews and bar journals.

McCareins (J.D. ’81) was recognized for his professional achievements and his contributions to the University.

McCareins is a senior partner in the Chicago office of Winston and Strawn and is a member of the firm’s Litigation Department Management Committee. He is a fellow of the American Bar Foundation.

McCareins has been adjunct professor at Northwestern University’s Kellogg Graduate School of Management.

At Washington University, he is a member of the law school’s Alumni Executive Committee. He is an advisory board member to the Law Quarterly, and he chairs the advisory board for the school’s Institute for Interdisciplinary Studies.