Head coach Larry Kindbom returns 62 letter-winners and 14 starters from last year’s team, which won four of its last five games to post a 6-4 record.

Go to BearSports

Washington U., the eight-time University Athletic Association (UAA) champion, has posted 14 straight winning seasons dating back to 1993, the 17th longest streak in all NCAA divisions.

On offense, the Bears return five starters, including first-team all-UAA offensive lineman Scott Reigle. Senior center Kevin Brooks and junior right guard Dan Elliott also return on the line. Seniors Michael Casper, Joe Lubelski and Dan Cardone were the top three wide receivers last season for WUSTL.

The Bears return six starters on a defense that ranked third in Division III last season in total defense and 10th in rushing defense. Senior linebackers Michael Elliott and Tyler McSparin, both all-UAA honorees last season, lead the Bears’ defense. Senior Evan Mayer and junior Tommy Bawden will start at defensive back, while senior Chris Rhodes and junior Brent Sensenich will look to fill the void up front.


Haleigh Spencer returns for her senior season for the Bears, who went 38-2 last year and finished second in the NCAA Tournament. The Bears are seeking their first title since 2003.
Haleigh Spencer returns for her senior season for the Bears, who went 38-2 last year and finished second in the NCAA Tournament. The Bears are seeking their first title since 2003.

The volleyball team posted a 38-2 record in 2006, making it to the national championship game. The Bears fell to Juniata College in the title match, but this year’s squad has set its sights on winning the team’s first national title since 2003.

Washington U. welcomes back 13 letterwinners from last year’s squad. Reigning UAA Player of the Year Haleigh Spencer returns for her senior campaign, as does junior outside hitter Nikki Morrison, an AVCA third-team All-America selection in 2006. The Red and Green also return both setters in junior Audra Janak and sophomore Vicki Blood.

The middle blocker position provides the biggest question mark for WUSTL heading into the season. Senior Emilie Walk will sit out the year because of a chronic back injury and Whitney Smith graduated in the spring, meaning the Bears have to replace both middles. Washington U. will look to junior Alli Alberts to step up on the back row at defensive specialist, as four-year letterwinner Amy Bommarito graduated.

Cross country

The men’s and women’s cross country teams ended a successful 2006 campaign on a high note, with the women placing fourth at the NCAA Championships and the men finishing 25th. For the women’s squad, it was the fourth time in five years they placed in the top five at the NCAA meet. The women’s team also had two runners receive All-America accolades. Beth Herndon placed fifth (22:56) at the meet and Tricia Frisella finished 22nd (23:38). Frisella returns in 2007 for her senior season.

On the men’s side, the Bears return senior Jesse McDaniel, who was a first-team all-UAA selection last year. McDaniel placed sixth overall (25:42.22) at the conference championship meet. Both the men’s and women’s teams finished in second place at the UAA Championships.

Men’s soccer

The men’s soccer team finished third in the conference and qualified for the NCAA Tournament last season. It was the Bears’ first postseason berth since 1999.

Head coach Joe Clarke returns 26 letter-winners from last year’s team, hoping to build on the 12-4-2 campaign.

Senior backs Matt Hemphill and Elie Zenner will once again bolster the defense, a unit that allowed just nine goals. Zenner led the Bears in scoring, tallying six goals and two assists.

Sophomore John Smelcer, the UAA Rookie of the year will return in goal. His 0.53 goals against average in 2006 stands as the fourth-lowest in school history. The Bears also return sophomore John Hengel, who led the squad in points (15) on five goals and five assists.

Women’s soccer

The Bears return 26 letter-winners and eight starters from the 2006 team, which tied the school record with 17 wins and advanced to the NCAA Sectionals.

Senior goalkeeper Carrie Sear and sophomore forward Caryn Rosoff were first-team all-UAA honorees last season. Sear posted a 17-3 record in the nets and set a school record with a 0.34 goals against average. Rosoff, the UAA Rookie of the Year, led the Bears in scoring last season with 12 goals and 27 points.

Sophomore back Libby Held, junior back Shirey Lane, senior midfielder Marin McCarthy, senior midfielder Kim O’Keefe and sophomore back Cassie Scaman also return from last season.