Men’s basketball gets Wooster in opener

Go to BearSports

The No. 7 men’s basketball team received an at-large bid to the 2008 NCAA Division III Championship.

WUSTL will play No. 11 College of Wooster Friday, March 7, in its first-round game at Augustana College in Rock Island, Ill. This will be a rematch of the NCAA third-place game in 2007, in which the Bears posted a 92-84 victory. WUSTL is making its 13th NCAA appearance as a Division III school and 16th overall. Last season, the team advanced to the Final Four for the first time in school history.

Senior Troy Ruths has been named the 2008 ESPN The Magazine College Division Academic All-America of the Year, as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America. Ruths, who has a 4.0 grade point average in computer science, becomes the second WUSTL student-athlete to earn the award twice. Volleyball player Amy Sullivan earned the honor in 1992 and ’93.

Women to face Wilmington in tourney

The women’s basketball team received an at-large bid to the 2008 NCAA Championship tournament and will face Wilmington University (Ohio) in the first round Friday, March 7, in Greencastle, Ind.

The Bears are making their 19th straight NCAA appearance and 20th overall. In those 19 trips, WUSTL has four national championships (1998-01), and seven trips to the Final Four, including last season’s.

Men’s tennis wins pair in Chicago

The No. 7 men’s tennis team won two matches last weekend in Chicago to extend its winning streak to three matches.

The Bears posted an 8-1 win over Luther College on March 1 in the first match of the road trip. On March 2, WUSTL swept all three doubles matches en route to a 6-3 win over University of Chicago.

Head coach Roger Follmer picked up his 97th and 98th career victory, moving him just two wins shy of 100 in his career.

Swimmers, diver qualify for NCAAs

The women’s swimming and diving team qualified a school-record eight competitors for the 2008 NCAA Championships, scheduled for March 13-15, in Oxford, Ohio.

Three swimmers and a diver qualified for individual events. Senior Meredith Nordbrock will swim in the 200-yard individual medley, the 400-yard individual medley, the 100-yard backstroke and the 200-yard backstroke. Junior Kelly Kono and sophomore Jessie Lodewyk will both compete in the 200-yard, 500-yard and 1,650-yard freestyle events.

Senior Priya Srikanth qualified for both the one-meter and three-meter springboard.

Additionally, four swimmers qualified for the championships as a part of relay teams, senior Katie Hodges, senior Kristen Mann, freshman Claire Henderson and sophomore Liz Caravati. Hodges, Mann and Henderson will each compete in individual races in addition to their relays.