Eight Arts & Sciences staff members recognized

To recognize the creative contributions and exemplary performance of its staff, Arts & Sciences presented eight of its own with the Arts & Sciences 2007-08 Outstanding Staff Award during a recent ceremony and reception in the Women’s Building Formal Lounge.

Edward S. Macias, Ph.D., presented the awards May 1 for the last time as dean of Arts & Sciences. He stepped down June 30 after 14 years in the position.

Macias, who becomes provost and executive vice chancellor for academic affairs following a six-month sabbatical, presented the annual awards to non-teaching personnel who have contributed significantly to the effectiveness of the teaching, advising, counseling and research efforts in Arts & Sciences.

In addition, Macias presented the Dean’s Award to Paul M. Norman, who recently retired as the Danforth Campus grounds manager/horticulturist, for his support, service and commitment to Arts & Sciences and the entire University. The Dean’s Award is given to a University staff member housed outside of Arts & Sciences who has made key contributions to the school.

Macias, who initiated the awards ceremony seven years ago to recognize outstanding Arts & Sciences staff who help make Washington University a stronger institution, said the event was something he was very proud of.

“Over the past seven years, it has been a great privilege to recognize some of our star staff members,” said Macias, the Barbara and David Thomas Distinguished Professor in Arts & Sciences. “The staff in Arts & Sciences are key to the success of our students and our faculty; our ability to succeed is attributed to their excellent work.”

All honorees received a framed award and a $300 gift certificate to Saint Louis Galleria.

The following are recipients of the Arts & Sciences Outstanding Staff Award:

• Debra Barco, project coordinator in the Center for Inquiry in Science Teaching & Learning;

• Henry Biggs, associate dean in the College of Arts & Sciences and director of undergraduate research;

• Mindy Danner, secretary in the Department of Philosophy;

• Andrew Johnstone, business manager in the Department of Biology;

• Donna Kepley, administrative assistant in the Women & Gender Studies Program;

• Jane McConnell, staff research associate in the Department of Psychology and assistant to the Dean for Academic Planning in Arts & Sciences;

• Christine Monteith, grants and accounting supervisor in the Department of Physics; and

• Krystel Mowery, administrative assistant in International and Area Studies.

To read more about the award recipients, go to artsci.wustl.edu/node/1930.