Outstanding Greek leaders, chapters honored

Members of the 19 fraternity and sorority chapters at Washington University in St. Louis gathered April 28 to recognize outstanding individual and chapter leadership in the Greek community throughout the past year.

Julia Macias Garcia, assistant director of Campus Life and assistant dean in the College of Arts & Sciences, delivered the keynote address at the event, held in College Hall in the South 40 House.

Macias Garcia, who is also academic coordinator for WUSTL’s Rodriguez Scholars Program, spoke about diversity within the Greek community and the changes she has observed in the Greek community throughout her time at Washington University.

The Order of Omega, a national honorary Greek leadership society, organized the awards program.

The Office of Student Involvement and Leadership, the Women’s Panhellenic Association, the Interfraternity Council and Student Union sponsored the event.

All chapters were eligible to apply for awards, and individuals could apply or be nominated by fellow students.

This year’s winners were selected by a committee comprising students, faculty and staff members.

The Chapter Awards were presented to:
• Excellence in Philanthropic Programming: Delta Gamma
• Maurice Chambers Community Service Award: Beta Theta Pi
• Excellence in Scholarship Programming: Alpha Phi
• Excellence in Alumni Programming: Tau Kappa Epsilon
• New Initiative of the Year: Sigma Alpha Epsilon “Road Map”
• Sorority Grade Cup: Alpha Epsilon Phi
• Fraternity Grade Cup: Beta Theta Pi

Individual Awards were presented to:
• Fraternity President of the Year: Garrett A. Schreiber of Sigma Alpha Epsilon
• Sorority President of the Year: June R. Lloyd-Davies of Chi Omega
• Fraternity New Member of the Year: Jordan P. Flanzraich of Sigma Phi Epsilon
• Sorority New Member of the Year: Molly C. Nunez of Alpha Phi
• Fraternity Leader of the Year: Joseph D. Roh of Sigma Chi
• Sorority Leader of the Year: Amanda E. Baranick of Alpha Phi
• Arete Man of the Year: Collin R. Boudreaux of Sigma Alpha Epsilon
• Arete Woman of the Year: Emily McNish of Chi Omega.