Vice chancellor for students search committee named

A search committee to identify candidates for the position of vice chancellor for students has been appointed by H. Holden Thorp, PhD, provost and executive vice chancellor for academic affairs at Washington University in St. Louis.

Sharon Stahl, PhD, announced last week that she is retiring as vice chancellor for students at the end of the academic year, June 30, 2015.

Barbara A. Schaal, PhD, dean of the faculty of Arts & Sciences and the Mary-Dell Chilton Distinguished Professor in the Department of Biology, will chair the 15-member search committee.

“Washington University has a history of providing a level of support to students that is unique in higher education,” said Thorp, who plans to have a new vice chancellor in place by July 1.

“The vice chancellor’s position is one of the best in the nation, and I am confident that under Dean Schaal’s leadership the search committee will identify a dynamic and thoughtful individual who will continue to guide our university and students,” he said.

The committee

In addition to chair Schaal, committee members are:

  • Dennis Barbour, MD, PhD, associate professor of biomedical engineering in the School of Engineering & Applied Science;
  • Deanna Barch, PhD, chair and professor of psychology in Arts & Sciences and professor of radiology;
  • Victoria Bawel, a senior majoring in chemistry in Arts & Sciences;
  • LaTanya N. Buck, director of the Center for Diversity and Inclusion;
  • Andrew M. Bursky (AB ’78, BS ’78, MS ’78), member of the Board of Trustees;
  • John F. Dains (BSBA ’68), member of the Board of Trustees;
  • Adrienne D. Davis, JD, vice provost and the William M. Van Cleve Professor of Law;
  • Barbara A. Feiner, vice chancellor for finance;
  • Robyn S. Hadley, associate vice chancellor and director of the Ervin Scholars Program;
  • Jacob Hale, a senior majoring in biology in Arts & Sciences;
  • Ashley Jeffrey, a senior majoring in urban studies in Arts & Sciences;
  • Xiumin Martin, PhD, associate professor of accounting in the Olin Business School;
  • Guillermo Rosas, PhD, associate professor of political science in Arts & Sciences; and
  • Emma Tyler, a senior majoring in political science in Arts & Sciences and president of Student Union.