McCarthy wins G. de B. Robinson Award

John McCarthy photo

John E. McCarthy, chair of mathematics and the Spencer T. Olin Professor in Arts & Sciences at Washington University in St. Louis, received the 2016 G. de B. Robinson Award in December — along with co-author Jim Agler of the University of California, San Diego — for an outstanding paper contributed to the Canadian Journal of Mathematics.

The Canadian Mathematical Society’s editorial board recognized the paper on free analysis, a branch of mathematics dealing with limits and related theories, for its “novelty, originality and introduction of important techniques leading to pioneering results.”

Leave a Comment

Comments and respectful dialogue are encouraged, but content will be moderated. Please, no personal attacks, obscenity or profanity, selling of commercial products, or endorsements of political candidates or positions. We reserve the right to remove any inappropriate comments. We also cannot address individual medical concerns or provide medical advice in this forum.